Alternative Asean Network on Burma
campaigns, advocacy and capacity-building for human rights
About Us
Election Commission
# Name Position Additional information
1. Tin Aye Chairman A former Lieutenant General, he is a protégé of Sr Gen Than Shwe. He steadily rose through the military ranks: from Commanding officer of Infantry Battalion 17 in 1987 to Deputy Commander of the Southern Command in 1992 and then to Commander of the Southern Command. In 1997, he became an SPDC member. He was the Chief of Military Ordnance until he resigned from the military in April 2010 to contest the elections. He was elected to the People’s Assembly in his native Tada U Township in Mandalay Division. He resigned from Parliament on 16 February. He is also a former Chairman of the regime’s conglomerate Union of Myanmar Economic Holdings (UMEH). He played a pivotal role in procuring military hardware from North Korea. He is on the EU blacklist.
2. Myint Naing Secretary Previous position: Retired Deputy Attorney General
3. Aung Myint Member  
4. Myint Kyi (F) Member  
5. Win Ko* Member  
6. Win Kyi Member  
7. Nyunt Tin Member  
* Replaced Tha Oo on 27 August 2012; Tha Oo had resigned on 5 June 2012
Regime Watch Home
Related topics:
Human Rights Commission
Supreme Court
Constitutional Tribunal